> Looking for some advice regarding co-workers
Shoop
post Aug 29 2008, 12:19 PM
Post #1

Mess.bedlam

Group: *Valued Members
Member No.: 755

Hi guys,

So I work in an office with a sales woman and someone in purchasing. The woman in sales got a call today from someone who told her that she'd left an order with a young lad in the office (I'm the only young lad in the entire building), she also came into the office to talk to me about the order (By the way, I'm a graphic designer, I don't take sales, ever). I told the sales woman that I don't recall any of this and I'm very sure that the customer is mistaken. She rolled her eyes and said to the customer over the phone "Listen, it's not my fault we have incompentent staff here, I'm putting you through to the manager." A little later she had realised that the customer was infact wrong, she had called the wrong company all together. Once she put the phone down I said to her "When you said 'incompentent staff', were you talking about me?" She kept her head down and sat there in silence.

This isn't the first time she's said such things about me, amongst the names in the past I've heard from her (though, through other people) are 'lazy', 'useless' etc. I don't think it's important to the story but I really feel that I'm none of those things, and other co-workers agree with me.

It's bad that she's told (what she thought was) a customer that we have incompetent staff working here. Many other members of staff feel victimised by this woman also, but nobody has ever complained. Here's why: Her husband is the boss.

How do I approach this without losing my job? I know there are laws against kicking me out but I really feel as though they would find a way around it.

Should I ask her to her face again? Perhaps she didn't hear me the first time.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
dizee
post Sep 5 2008, 10:43 PM
Post #2

Mess.beagle

Group: Members
Member No.: 12,092