IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lag, overheat crash?
napoodo
post Jan 10 2006, 09:01 PM
Post #1


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-January 06
Member No.: 15,999



Everytime i open up msn 7.5 and click 'sign in', it takes like 3 mins to sign in and after it is signed in, it gets super laggy! It uses up all my ram and my whole comp freezes after 5 mins. I have scanned for viruses and spywares but it was clean. msn_bareteeth.gif

My pc specs are:
windows xp
1.5ghz
256mb ram

I'm pretty sure my comp can handle msn but it's not for some reason!

sorry for double post but...

Someone told me that there's a 'picture virus' or someting like that out there where you look at the picture and you get a virus. I kind of think it could be that because when i use msn 4.0 it doesnt crash freeze or lag but when i use 7.5 or newer msns it crashes and freezes my computer. Could it be the display pictures from the people on your msn contact list causing this? Or am I just going crazy"?? msn_rolleyes.gif msn_thinking.gif msn_rolleyes.gif msn_thinking.gif


Posts Merged - RebelSean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zombi333
post Jan 10 2006, 09:50 PM
Post #2


The end of nothing. The start of everything!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,624
Joined: 9-April 05
From: C:\My Received Files
Member No.: 7,355



QUOTE(napoodo @ Jan 10 2006, 09:18 PM)
Someone told me that there's a 'picture virus' or someting like that out there where you look at the picture and you get a virus.  I kind of think it could be that because when i use msn 4.0 it doesnt crash freeze or lag but when i use 7.5 or newer msns it crashes and freezes my computer.  Could it be the display pictures from the people on your msn contact list causing this? Or am I just going crazy"?? msn_rolleyes.gif   msn_thinking.gif  msn_rolleyes.gif  msn_thinking.gif
[right][snapback]115398[/snapback][/right]

Well your friend is half right. Yes there are a cuple of "Picture viruses" but no you cant catch it of someones display pic, yo need 2 download it then open it.....

Now to the crash problems. Im gessing it your prosessor not beeing that fast, as 1.5Ghz isnt that fast these days.

Try getting rid of some programs you dont use in the task bar. Then try again.

Hope that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dizee
post Jan 10 2006, 10:20 PM
Post #3


Mess.beagle
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Canvey Island, Essex, UK
Member No.: 12,092



I was going to say that, because if it is excessive heat then the computer would shut down and not just lag some programs.

Try searching for adware spyware and all that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Khyshen
post Jan 10 2006, 10:46 PM
Post #4


mess.teaz0r
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 20-December 05
From: LOLLERCATZZZZZZZZZZ
Member No.: 15,439



what about internet connection? yes, there is a difference if you use dial-up on msn msn_wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spasm
post Jan 19 2006, 07:25 PM
Post #5


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-January 06
Member No.: 16,228



I get almost exactly the same thing! Finally I find someone with the same problem.
When MSN Messenger is running I have the main window open and it will slowly eat up more and more of my memory, slowing down my pc until msn finally crashes.

At one time it was using 300MB of memory >_<

Specs are:
Windows XP Home
AMD AthloxXP 1.1Ghz
768MB RAM
256/64kb internet

I have 2 512MB pagefiles. 1 on each of my drives.

Hopefully there is some genius out there that knows whats going on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thahim
post Jan 20 2006, 12:08 PM
Post #6


Mess.beggar
******

Group: Members
Posts: 672
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Hyderabad, Pakistan
Member No.: 934



This seems to be some sort of a virus
normally msn doesn't takes that much of memory. And doesn't gets to crash even
On 1.5 and 1.1 GHz you can easily run many programs at same time

Update your Anti Virus and scan your pc

i'll suggest you AVG Anti Virus download it free from www.grisoft.com

If the problem presists. Install a fresh copy of windows !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wabz
post Jan 20 2006, 01:19 PM
Post #7


Fo Shizzle Ma Nizzle its the Big Messzizzle
Group Icon

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 301
Joined: 3-September 04
From: Near to Zipp
Member No.: 40



Just out of curiousity what Brand of processors do you both use? Perhaps theres actually a problem with a buffer overflow or something within messenger, however unlikely it may seem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spasm
post Jan 20 2006, 03:18 PM
Post #8


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-January 06
Member No.: 16,228



I have an AMD AthlonXP like I said before.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
.zero
post Jan 20 2006, 03:30 PM
Post #9


jrdn hannah
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 859
Joined: 19-June 05
From: Hampshire, England
Member No.: 9,914



QUOTE(zmbiЭ @ Jan 10 2006, 10:50 PM)
Well your friend is half right. Yes there are a cuple of "Picture viruses" but no you cant catch it of someones display pic, yo need 2 download it then open it.....

Now to the crash problems. Im gessing it your prosessor not beeing that fast, as 1.5Ghz isnt that fast these days.

Try getting rid of some programs you dont use in the task bar. Then try again.

Hope that helps.
[right][snapback]115412[/snapback][/right]

Hell, my dad has a 600MHz processor and MSN runs fine msn_wink.gif

QUOTE(Craven-Image @ Jan 10 2006, 11:46 PM)
what about internet connection? yes, there is a difference if you use dial-up on msn msn_wink.gif
[right][snapback]115439[/snapback][/right]

Yes, this is true, however, dialup would not cause your computer to crash.



@napoodo:
Try getting a new hotmail account, and a test buddy. If this works fine, then you have too much crap on your passport. Delete any uneccesary DP's/Winks/Emotes

If this fails, chances are you have waaay too many contacts, and the only known solution is to get a new passport.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zombi333
post Jan 20 2006, 04:02 PM
Post #10


The end of nothing. The start of everything!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,624
Joined: 9-April 05
From: C:\My Received Files
Member No.: 7,355



QUOTE(The Husher @ Jan 20 2006, 03:30 PM)
Hell, my dad has a 600MHz processor and MSN runs fine msn_wink.gif
[right][snapback]117500[/snapback][/right]

msn_tongue.gif Tru Tru......just saying that might be a problem but not saying it was msn_wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Koptor
post Jan 20 2006, 05:41 PM
Post #11


Mess.bear
****

Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 31-January 05
Member No.: 5,062



CPU wouldn't really matter anyway, it's more RAM.

I'll agree with the crap on the passport though, happened to me once on my 1.0 athlon w/ 256mb RAM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spasm
post Jan 20 2006, 09:31 PM
Post #12


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-January 06
Member No.: 16,228



Just thought I'd post the error message I get when MSN crashes.

QUOTE
The following error caused %1 to close: <unknown>


Doesn't make any sense to me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Khyshen
post Jan 20 2006, 09:44 PM
Post #13


mess.teaz0r
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 20-December 05
From: LOLLERCATZZZZZZZZZZ
Member No.: 15,439



This to me is a computer issue....
Some kind of a virus or infection
Anyways, what make and model is you're computer or did you build it you're self?
QUOTE
Yes, this is true, however, dialup would not cause your computer to crash.
I didn't say it would crash due to dial up...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
.zero
post Jan 20 2006, 10:38 PM
Post #14


jrdn hannah
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 859
Joined: 19-June 05
From: Hampshire, England
Member No.: 9,914



craven-image, please pay attention. The point is the computer is crashing. Whether he is using dial up or not doesn't matter, it has nothing to do with anything.
End of.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Khyshen
post Jan 20 2006, 11:08 PM
Post #15


mess.teaz0r
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 20-December 05
From: LOLLERCATZZZZZZZZZZ
Member No.: 15,439



jeez man.... i put in more than 1 thing in my old post!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spasm
post Jan 31 2006, 08:10 PM
Post #16


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-January 06
Member No.: 16,228



I just created a new user account on my pc and it seems to have fixed the problem completely.

I think it might have something to do with hiding the tabs on the MSN main window. For some reason they were hidden on my old user account.

If anyone knows how to unhide the tabs then can they please say something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Khyshen
post Jan 31 2006, 08:33 PM
Post #17


mess.teaz0r
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,646
Joined: 20-December 05
From: LOLLERCATZZZZZZZZZZ
Member No.: 15,439



Tools>>Options>>Security>>Dont display my tabs, it is a shared computer etc. etc.

If that is ticked, untick it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spasm
post Jan 31 2006, 08:47 PM
Post #18


Mess.bean
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-January 06
Member No.: 16,228



Lol, I just found it a second ago and that wasn't the problem. But thanks. Man I feel dumb now lol.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th February 2019 - 08:45 PM
2004-2008 Seb Skuse, mess.be.
MessForum v6.1.4 - created for, and for use only by mess.be.